About Lubbock
Home News Frescoes Museum Lubbock Children Search

   Catholic Diocese of Lubbock  

History of the Diocese - On June 17, 1983, the Diocese of Lubbock was created with Most Rev. Michael J. Sheehan as its first bishop. The Diocese of Lubbock embraces an area that was formerly in the Diocese of Amarillo, plus five counties (Jones, Scurry, Haskell, Fisher, and Stonewall) from the Diocese of San Angelo.

The Diocesan Coat of Arms - The first coats of arms were used by Catholic knights from western Europe who battled for the liberation of the Holy Land during the twelfth century Crusades. These Crusaders displayed coats of arms on their shields and flags so their followers could recognize them on the battlefield.

The Bishop of Lubbock - For his coat of arms. Bishop Placido Rodriguez, CMF, selected symbols of his Indo-Hispanic heritage as well as his Catholic faith. The shield is almost completely colored in the Hispanic colors of red and gold.

Prayer for the Diocese of Lubbock - Heavenly Father, in calling us to follow Christ your Son, you have made us members of this Diocese of Lubbock, which is a local Church.

Catholic Diocese of Lubbock 2000 Statistical Abstract

Catholic Churches in the Lubbock Area
Christ The King Cathedral
Holy Spirit Church
Our Lady of Grace Church
Our Lady of Guadalupe Church - Lubbock
Our Lady of Guadalupe Church - Slanton
Saint Elizabeth's University Parish
Saint Francis of Assisi Church
Saint Isidore Church
Saint John Neumann Church
Saint Joseph's Church - Lubbock
Saint Joseph's Church - Slaton
Saint Patrick's Church
Saint Phillip Benizi's Church - Idalou
Saint Phillip Benizi Church - Shallowater
Saint Theresa's Church
San Ramon Church

Click here to visit the offical Catholic Diocese of Lubbock webpage

Copyright 2001 - The Lubbock Avalanche-Journal Contact us